Student Achievements

Fine Arts 2022-2023


Congratulations to the nine talented student musicians from BHHS who have been accepted into the New York State School Music Association Area All-State program and will be performing with other students from Westchester County at the annual Area All-State Concert at SUNY Purchase on Nov. 8. The students are: Grace Byrd, soprano; Sarah Fakler, clarinet; Elena Lowe, oboe; Nate Lucas, oboe; Brent Perlman, trombone; Ethan Resnik, alto sax; Nick Skiera, Cello; Jake Wild, tenor; Moses Zhang, clarinet. #ByramPride#ByramHillsMusic #ByramHillsArts

Here are the six talented Byram Hills High School students selected as participants or alternates in the 2018 New York State School Music Association All-State conference, the highest statewide honor for high school musicians. The students chosen for the Mixed Chorus ensemble were soprano Charlie Cohen, alto Megan Hwang and tenor Jake Wild. Trombonist Brent Perlman was selected for the Symphonic Orchestra. Soprano Isabelle Ilan and bass Shea Gordon were selected as alternates. They were among thousands who auditioned in the spring at solo and ensemble festivals throughout New York. Nearly 900 students were accepted into All-State ensembles that will perform later this year at NYSSMA’s winter conference in Rochester, New York. Congratulations! Wish them congrats in the comments. #ByramPride  #ByramHillsArts 

Congratulations to the 9 BHHS students inducted into the Tri-M Music Honor Society last night! Our superintendent was also recognized as an honorary member of the society. Dr. Lamia spoke about her connection with music saying "It's a lifelong gift we give to our children." and "...why it's so important that Byram Hills delivers the gift of music to our students in every way possible."


Congratulations to HCC Art student, Alicia Huang, for winning the Lions Club Peace Poster Contest on the State level! Alicia's poster will now compete on the national level!  

Stuart Weitzman and the New-York Historical Society invited HS students to participate in a footwear design competition in conjunction with Walk this Way: Footwear from the Stuart Weitzman Collection of Historic Shoes. Students submitted a unique shoe design in one of two categories: Socially-Conscious Fashion or Material Innovation. Reviewed by prominent curators, educators, and Stuart Weitzman himself, ten finalists’ designs will be exhibited in Walk this Way at the New-York Historical Society and the finalists will be invited to the VIP Opening Reception. Stuart Weitzman will announce each winner at the Opening Reception. Stuart Weitzman will produce the winning designs to be included in the exhibition.

We are happy announce that 3 of the 10 finalists are Visual Art students at Byram Hills High School! Congratulations to Alix Weiss, Samantha Efobi, and Danielle Fliegel

18 BHHS music students have been selected to participate in the Area All-State Music Festival. The performances will take place on Thursday, November 16, 2017 at SUNY Purchase at 8:00 PM

All-State Honor Ensembles
Three BHHS students have been selected to participate in New York State School Music
Association All-State Ensembles. They will perform in concerts to be held at the
Eastman Theatre in Rochester, N.Y.,  and work with renowned conductors and
educators during the annual Winter Conference of the NYSSMA to be held from
December 1-4. Students were selected based on their All-State solo performances
which were adjudicated by music professionals from throughout New York State.

This year’s students are:
Shea Gordon (Mixed Chorus), Dominique Karanfilian (Treble Chorus), and
Brent Perlman (Symphonic Band).


Congratulation to the following students who were selected as 2016 -2017 Katonah Museum Young Artists: Nick Muhart; Remi Assael; Ilyse Lipman; Brian Henderson; Sarah Ehrlich; Allegra Samsen; Adrianna Tedeschi; Gabrielle Kleinberg; Sarah Unger; Ellie Hooker; Juliana Zepf; Aerin Bacon

Scholastic Art & Writing Awards were awarded to : Sarah Huang; Zachary Milewicz; Devon Wolfe

Lion’s Club Peace Poster: Alicia Huang (Grade 7) Regional Winner

The following students have been accepted to the Armonk Outdoor Art Show as Student Artists: Erin Adler, Thornwood, graphic design; Briana Feldman, Bedford, photography; Danielle Fliegel, Armonk, sculpture; Miranda Getreu, Armonk, digital art; Carley Hershaft, Armonk, sculpture; Ellie Hooker, Pleasantville, drawing and painting; Sarah Huang, Armonk, drawing and painting; Abby Kaiser, Armonk, photography; Michelle Katz, Armonk, digital art/graphic design; Gabrielle Kleinbeg, Armonk, drawing and painting; Benjamin Matza, Armonk, sculpture; Brianna McArdle, Chappaqua, sculpture; Taylor Morgis, Armonk, digital art; Zach Mykytiuk, Armonk, photography; Sydney Palotta, Armonk, sculpture; Rianna Rabinowitz, Armonk, digital art; Andie Reichenbaum, Armonk, photography; Michael Rosenstein, Bedford, digital art; Allegra Samsen, Armonk, photography; Julianna Segatti, Armonk, sculpture; Chloe Sider, Armonk, digital art; Julia Violone, Armonk, digital art; Cooper Weiss, Armonk, digital art; Juliana Zepf, Armonk, sculpture;

Congratulations to the following BHHS students on their acceptance to All-State Music Ensembles: Jack Briody (trumpet); Harry Lucas (bassoon); Jack Skiera (cello); Michael Ramsey (tenor), alternate

The National Association for Music Education All-Eastern Orchestra welcomes: Jack Skiera (cello)

College Acceptances (Art, Music, Theater, related): Ithaca College Theatre Arts; University of Tampa Musical Theater; Muhlenberg College-theatre arts/musical theatre concentration; University of Michigan-Performing Arts Technology; Washington University-music minor; Northeastern University-theatre/communications; SUNY Purchase-theatre/journalism; Northeastern University-computer science/music performance

Film @ BHHS:

  • “Driver’s Dead” was submitted by students in the Film Club led by Michael Chuney
  • NYSMATA Film Presidents’ Awards for “Driver’s Dead”
  • Finalist in the SNY Future Filmmakers Festival!

Community Performances/Outreach/Exchange Concerts:

  • BHHS/Pleasantville HS Chorale Exchange Program
  • HCC Band Exchanges with Eastchester & Port Chester

Visiting Artists:

  • Caramoor String Quartet
  • John Cziner, alum and composer - String Orchestra

The following students won awards from the NYSMATA (New York State Media Arts Teachers Awards): Emily Cott; Jessica D’Avanzo; Marlee Deutsch; Carly Hershaft; Devon Karoff; Jason Knoop; Ilyse Lipman; Zach Milewicz; Lily Moss; Gianna Prisco; Alexis Rosenberg; Allegra Samsen - Presidents’ Award; Angelique Sarro; Adrianna Tedeschi; Phoebe Waxman; Austen Zane

Students Participated in the following Summer Programs in the Arts

  • NYU Classical Voice Intensive
  • Queens Summer Vocal Institute

National Young Arts Competition awards: National Young Arts: Giana Poppo (merit winner), popular voice

Byram Hills Ensembles score at NYSSMA Majors


BHHS Music Ensembles Receive High Marks @ Music in the Parks

  • BHHS Choir - First Place
  • BHHS Jazz Choir - First Place/Best in Festival