Byram Hills Science Department

Phenomena of the Month: Curiosity
No matter your age, staying curious is one of the most important parts of science. What are you still curious about?

"The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge."
- Stephen Hawking

Today's children face a vastly different world from 15 years ago, with challenges like global climate change, disease outbreaks, and the need for advancements in modern medicine. In the digital age, social media bombards them with information, making it crucial to discern accurate data from inaccurate. Mental health crises and other pressing issues add complexity to their journey.

The BH science program prepares students to be knowledgeable problem solvers and leaders of the next generation. Beyond advanced literacy and STEM skills, they need a strong foundation in scientific literacy, abstract reasoning, and collaborative problem-solving to tackle global challenges and navigate the information age.

We emphasize active exploration, and investigation, and enhance comprehension through a three-dimensional curriculum covering Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Earth and Space Science.

  NYS Learning Standards               Core Ideas