District News

Byram Hills Students Recognized as Commended Students in National Scholarship Competition

Byram Hills High School is pleased to announce that 21 students have been named Commended Students in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The seniors recognized for their scholastic talent are: Alex Araki-Kurdyla, Derek Araki-Kurdyla, Lily Auster, Edith Bachmann, Alex Berkman, Amelia Chung, Elizabeth Corelli, Jacob Geyman, Samantha Glusky, Arielle Goldman, Jake Goldman, Dylan Haber, Zachary Honig, Sydney Levy, Nora Lowe, Julia Lucchino, Matthew Marinozzi, Brady Schlosser, Arianna Tabankin, Sebastian Vasquez and Hayden Weiss.

“Congratulations to our National Merit Commended Students,” Byram Hills High School Principal Christopher Walsh said. “We are incredibly proud of them and all of their hard work and achievements that led to this recognition.”

The Commended Students are among the approximately 34,000 students nationwide being recognized for their academic promise, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. They placed among the top 50,000 students entered in the 2022 scholarship competition by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.